Gearing Up for November

Ending last month with the SCBWI conference, I was ready to spend October writing my brains out.  But, as they say, life got in the way.  I spent plenty of time talking about writing, and even some time thinking about it.  I joined an online critique group thanks to a connection I made at the October conference, and welcomed two new members into our local writer’s group.  I spent time seeking out an elementary school to teach creative writing in.  But I also attended a funeral in Michigan and a wedding in Ohio and hosted two out-of-town visitors, and in the end spent very little time actually writing.

While I have been able to let my creativity out in other ways (like figuring out how to turn “The Rapture” into a Halloween costume), I am ready to get back to my keyboard.  I think that Picture Book Idea Month will be the perfect way to brush the rust off of my creative writing gears and whip my fingers back into shape.

The idea of Picture Book Idea Month (or ‘PiBoIdMo’ after its predecessor ‘NaNoWriMo,’ National Novel Writing Month) is to come up with 30 viable picture book ideas in the 30 days of November.  If anyone is game to try it with me, I would love to have a partner in crime, a mutual cheerleader, or a sounding board – please post in the comments if you are up for the challenge!

You can find out more here: http://taralazar.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/piboidmo-official-sign-up-starts-today-right-here-right-now/

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Gearing Up for November

  1. Thanks for joining PiBoIdMo! I have set up a Facebook discussion group if you’d like some cheerleaders! http://www.facebook.com/groups/265963663444660/

Leave a Reply

