Word Lover

Happy Valentine’s Day!

While I do have a Valentine to celebrate with tomorrow, I won’t get to spend time with him until after writing a grant all morning, going to my day job, and attending my writing class (the first of a 10 week series through the Great Smokies Writing Program, which I am incredibly excited about).  In fact, sometimes it feels like I am in a relationship with my writing.

We spend LOTS of time together.

We snuggle on the couch in our pajamas.

We go on regular coffee dates.

We get into lovers quarrels.  It’s usually over who pays the bill (my writing almost never does…).

When we get into a rut, we try to keep things fresh by going to exciting new places.  We just went on a weekend getaway to another galaxy.

It seems as though we are starting to resemble each other.

Sometimes it feels like this relationship is a lot of work.  But then my writing will remind me that I am getting as much out of it as I put into it.  I truly am finding that the more effort I put towards it, the more that I love it.

So this Valentine’s Day, or whenever you are having trouble knowing if it’s worth the trouble, take your writing somewhere new and exciting.  Give your writing a little romantic gesture to let it know you care.  In return, your writing will help you remember why you fell in love with it in the first place.

3 Comments

Filed under Holiday, Thoughts and Insights

3 responses to “Word Lover

  1. Laura, what a very clever approach to Valentines Day. A love relationship with writing. Very special. – Pat

  2. That’s funny Laura, and true for many of us I am sure!

  3. Thanks! Hope you both had a nice holiday!

Leave a Reply

