Diary of my Body

I am always trying to think of ways that writing can better our lives, and Dorie Deats and Asheville’s Aiyanna Sezak Blatt have discovered a wonderful way.  Through Diary of my Body, they created a platform for women to share the stories of their bodies.

The simple act of writing and sharing these moving stories brings strength to writers, readers, and women everywhere grappling with issues often considered taboo to discuss.  I didn’t think that I had a powerful story to share about my own body, but just writing about it taught me a lot about this skin I inhabit.  It was also a great opportunity to branch out from children’s writing!

You can check out my story here, but I highly recommend browsing the much more powerful and touching stories on the site, as well as writing your own!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

