Happy Mother’s Day!

As promised, here is my own poem to celebrate my wonderful mother and Limerick Day simultaneously.  Enjoy!

There lack syllables in a haiku
to express how I feel about you.
My love’s parameters
surpass pentameters,
but these limericks will just have to do.
 
Giving birth is no walk in the park,
but you brought me to light from the dark.
Please know that I’m glad
for each contraction you had,
and I thank you for every stretch mark.
 
I hear motherhood’s no picnic either,
nursing nightmares, stomach bugs, fever,
always on call
for a mishap or fall.
In wetting pants, I was quite the achiever.
 
For each grilled cheese, I owe you a kiss.
(Cut diagonally, made with cheddar, not Swiss.)
No, “Thank you for lunch,”
just a little nose scrunch,
and, “Are you sure there aren’t onions in this?”
 
Superstition says, “Unlucky thirteen.”
You say, “Eleven through eighteen, you mean?”
Years that I’d declare war
over curfew or chore:
a live nuclear hormone machine.
 
I hope the motherhood moments lamented
are outnumbered by jellybean flavors invented,
jigsaw puzzles completed,
card games competed,
and Christmas carols harmoniously presented.
 
After your day in the classroom was through,
you’d come home for teaching round two.
You taught me always to try
and that it’s alright to cry.
Of our shared days, there’s not one that I rue.*
 

*That last line’s a joke about an incident in which my lovely mother convinced me to rub an herb called rue all over my skin to repel mosquitoes, backfiring in an allergic reaction that gave me an itchy, purple, boiling rash for about 4 months.  I suppose I do “rue” that day, but even that story is an example of my mom trying to do what was best for me.  I’m so grateful to have gotten such a good one!

Yes, this is my mother and I in front of the world's largest basket just outside of my hometown.

Yes, this is my mother and I in front of the world’s largest basket just outside of my hometown.

4 Comments

Filed under Holiday

4 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Deanna Klingel

    Loved the poem. I’ve given out my last Laura Boffa A Writers to interested middle school writers in St. Louis and Fredericksburg.

    ________________________________

  2. FOUR MONTHS!!! Yikes! Nice job on the limerick. Happy Mother’s Day to you too! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks, Christie! Yes, this rash was ridiculous. We learned afterwards that rue commonly causes allergic reactions, and to use it as a mosquito repellent, you’re supposed to keep it in a pot on your window sill. Woops!
      Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day too!

Leave a Reply

