Great, BIG, Thomas-Wolfe-Sized News!

I’m just going to blurt it out.

I SIGNED MY FIRST PICTURE BOOK CONTRACT!

I have spent the last four summers leading creative writing camps amid the contagious inspiration of the Thomas Wolfe Memorial, watching kids bubble with questions about the exotic 1900s kitchen appliances, their faces pale standing beside the bed where Tom’s brother died, and then their pencils race with creative fuel.

Wolfe Shoes

Writing about this author, I’ve got some big shoes to fill!

Now, I am so grateful that I get to work with Taylor Trade Publishing to spread the story of Thomas Wolfe’s growing up in Asheville – a story that will also hopefully get kids bubbling with questions, their faces paling, and their pencils racing.

Not only that, but they have asked me to illustrate the book as well, a totally new endeavor for me that has me both thrilled and occasionally in fights with my watercolor paints.

And we’ll just say that those watercolor fights are the source of this wet spot on my pants, and not the fact that I am so excited I can’t contain myself…

Stay posted!

2 Comments

Filed under Featured Posts, News

2 responses to “Great, BIG, Thomas-Wolfe-Sized News!

  1. Thanks, Tom! And thank you again for your help with the book!

Leave a Reply

