PB 14:14 Day 4 – Edwina, The Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct

Nothing like an ice storm to sit me down and get me reading picture books for the Picture Book 14:14 Challenge!  Although Mo Willems is best known for his ‘Pigeon’ and ‘Elephant and Piggie’ series, today I’m going to share one of my favorites of his that tends to fly a bit under the radar.

EdwinaTitle: Edwina, The Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct

Author/Illustrator: Mo Willems

Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children, 2006

 

By the end of the title, it’s already clear that the book is bursting with lovable character.  Her name is Edwina?  And she doesn’t know she’s extinct?  How precious!

The dino becomes more endearing yet as she carries old ladies across the street and bakes chocolate chip cookies for everyone in town.  But she’s not the only star character of the story.  Let’s not forget Reginald Von Hoobie Doobie.

The class know-it-all becomes increasingly irritated when no one will listen to him explain that dinosaurs are extinct.  We all know what it feels like to be outshined and unheard, and I certainly sympathized with poor Reginald as everyone brushed off his pickets and reports.

The best characters always have some relatable flaws, like Reginald’s need to be right or Edwina naivety, but they also find ways to adapt and shine in spite of those flaws.

Although it took no more than their names for me to fall in love with Edwina and Reginald Von Hoobie Doobie, they’ll certainly win you over when they sweetly balance out each other’s flaws at the end of the book.

14 Comments

Filed under Picture Books

14 responses to “PB 14:14 Day 4 – Edwina, The Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct

  1. ManjuBeth

    Great title! I don’t know this Mo Willems PB. I agree that every character should have a flaw or two.

  2. Under the radar for sure. I’ve read a lot of Mo Willems and didn’t know this book existed! Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  3. Love what you’re doing sharing these stories! “Kiddie Lit” was always my favorite class in college.

    I’ll be reading your whole series!

    Terri

  4. Christie Wright Wild

    Great example! I especially love what you said here: “The best characters always have some relatable flaws.” How fun!

  5. Christie Wright Wild

    How is it literally 2-17-15 at 11:46 p.m. and all the comments are showing as 2-18-15 at 4:46 a.m.? Hmmm… Puzzling, indeed. Just thought I’d mention it.

  6. Laura, this one was a Mo Willems book I didn’t know about either. I love the notion, and it reminds me of the old old old old title “Danny and the Dinosaur” by Syd Hoff. Great character example.

  7. Reginald Von Hoobie Doobie is the best name ever!!! His name alone would make this book fun to read. And the story is definitely original. Thanks for sharing.

  8. I LOVE the names in this! It really illustrates how much a name can do when creating character. And I love that Edwina refuses to believe that she is extinct. What an awesome premise for a book. Thanks for introducing this one to us!

Leave a Reply

