One of my Favorite Things

I have a lot of favorite things, but one is that every three weeks, my voicemail makes me listen to all of my saved messages and decide whether I want to re-save them before I can hear any new ones.  I’ve kept some of my favorites from as far back as 2006, including several…um…totally on-key renditions of ‘Happy Birthday,’ an impromptu rap, a friend playing the bagpipes, my nephews learning how to leave voicemails (older nephew in the background: “Say: Hi, it’s Will.”  Will: “Hi, it’s me.”), and even a personalized voice message from Samuel L. Jackson urging me to watch Snakes on a Plane.  Feel free to do the math if you want, but I’ve listened to them a lot, and I still smile every time.

samuel-l-jackson

The personalized Snakes on a Plane call site is gone, but you can download an awesome Samuel L. Jackson voicemail here.

All of that just to say that not all of your words have to be monumental to change the world.  Sometimes, they can change the world just by making someone smile – maybe for longer than you’d expect.  So if your writing or your work is ever feeling too heavy or daunting, take a break and call a friend.  Or send them some snail mail.  Or invite them over to watch Snakes on a Plane.  It’ll be time well spent.

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts and Insights

2 responses to “One of my Favorite Things

  1. I’m a voicemail hoarder too! Every few weeks I get to listen to you on the fiddle!

Leave a Reply

